customer story

shipcloud also supports us with international shipping

First of all, congratulations: From house to house in the Hamburg warehouse district, where shipcloud is at home, right over to the immediate vicinity, to the Rebelle headquarters. The European full-service online marketplace for designer second-hand fashion is celebrating its 8th anniversary and sends hundreds of packages with bags, clothing, shoes, accessories and jewelery from well-known designers to over 30 countries every day.

Shipping to 30+ countries
65% of all transactions are transnational

In the beginning there is the idea

In short, business is good. And that because of a business idea that started in a Berlin basement, that of the parental home of founder Cécile Wickmann. There were a few boxes piled up with fashion enthusiasts’ once-beloved clothes and accessories. In her new job in particular, she has neither the time nor nerves to sell at the flea market. When researching the Internet, she and her co-founder Max Schönemann were unable to find an adequate sales service that would help them and other private customers to conveniently sell well-maintained items of clothing.

A start-up company is born

So both decided to found StyleRemains GmbH together in March 2013 and launch www.rebelle.com at the end of August, their own online marketplace for second-hand designer fashion. This runs with shop software developed in-house on the basis of Ruby on Rails, which can be adapted in-house over the years – in line with increasing sales. So far everything is fine, but with the growth Rebelle repeatedly reached its limits when it came to shipping. That was in 2017. DHL announced once again that it would switch off the local EasyLog shipping software. “We wanted more flexibility and better centralization of our shipments. And in the course of internationalization, the idea of connecting several carriers came up. So we were looking for a central shipping interface,” says Max Schönemann, describing the situation at the time.

Quelle: Rebelle

The chemistry is right

They found what they were looking for at shipcloud and the chemistry was right from the start: “The cooperation was very professional and close, with quick feedback and good solutions. During the integration, parallels kept coming to light. We are simply two start-ups that are no longer quite so small, who are developing together,” says Schönemann, characterizing the collaboration.

Quelle: Rebelle
With the flexible connection of new carriers and the central dashboard for all incoming and outgoing shipments, shipcloud offers the ideal solution!

Max Schönemann , co-founder of Rebelle

The tracking solution in particular is an important aid in being able to give customers automated status updates on their shipments. “This is very important for us because we deliver to 30 countries, including the USA. 65 percent of all transactions at Rebelle are transnational. That means, for example, a seller from Italy sells to a buyer from Germany or a customer from the UK buys a designer piece from a seller from Spain,” says Max Schönemann. Shipping within Germany is still done with DHL, for international shipping and express shipping – also to the USA – the Hamburg company relies on UPS and Fedex. His credo regarding shipcloud:

“If you are looking for a flexible shipping solution with easy integration in online retail, you have come to the right place!”

Ready for Germany's leading shipping solution?
Register now & start shipping

You might also be interested in:

Customer Story

shipcloud unterstützt uns auch beim internationalen Versand

Als erstes gilt es mal zu gratulieren: Von Haus zu Haus in der Hamburg Speicherstadt, wo shipcloud zu Hause ist, gleich rüber in die direkte Nachbarschaft, zum Headquarter von Rebelle. Der europäische Full-Service Online-Marktplatz für Designer Secondhand Fashionfeiert sein 8-jähriges Jubiläum und verschickt täglich viele hundert Pakete mit Taschen, Kleidung, Schuhen, Accessoires und Schmuck von namhaften Designern in über 30 Länder.

Versand in 30+ Länder
65 % aller Transaktionen sind transnational

Am Anfang steht die Idee

Kurz, das Geschäft läuft. Und das aufgrund einer Geschäftsidee, die ihren Anfang in einem Berliner Keller nahm, dem des Elternhauses von Gründerin Cécile Wickmann. Dort stapelten sich einige Kartons mit einst geliebten Kleidern und Accessoires der Modebegeisterten. Gerade im neuen Job hat sie für den Verkauf auf dem Flohmarkt keine Zeit und Nerven. Bei der Recherche im Internet finden sie und ihr Mitgründer Max Schönemann auch keinen adäquaten Verkaufsservice, der ihnen und damit auch anderen Privatkunden dabei hilft, gut erhaltene Kleidungsstücke komfortabel zu Geld zu machen.

Ein Start-up-Unternehmen ist geboren

Also gründen beide zusammen und kurzentschlossen im März 2013 die StyleRemains GmbH und launchen Ende August www.rebelle.com, ihren eigenen Online-Marktplatz für Secondhand Designer-Fashion. Dieser läuft mit einer auf Basis von Ruby on Rails selbst entwickelten Shopsoftware, die im Laufe der Jahre – den steigenden Umsätzen entsprechend – in-house angepasst werden kann. Soweit alles bestens, doch mit dem Wachstum stieß Rebelle immer wieder an Grenzen beim Thema Versand. Das war im Jahr 2017. DHL kündigte zum wiederholten Male an, die lokale Versandsoftware EasyLog abzuschalten. „Wir wünschten uns mehr Flexibilität und eine bessere Zentralisierung unserer Sendungen. Und im Zuge der Internationalisierung kam der Gedanke, mehrere Carrier anzubinden. Wir waren also auf der Suche nach einer zentralen Versandschnittstelle“, beschreibt Max Schönemann die damalige Situation.

Quelle: Rebelle

Die Chemie stimmt

Fündig wurde man bei shipcloud und die Chemie stimmte von Anfang an: „Die Zusammenarbeit war sehr professionell und eng, mit schnellen Rückmeldungen und guten Lösungsansätzen. Während der Integration kamen immer wieder Parallelen ans Tageslicht. Wir sind einfach zwei mittlerweile nicht mehr ganz so kleine Start-ups, die sich gemeinsam weiterentwickeln“, charakterisiert Schönemann die Zusammenarbeit.

Quelle: Rebelle
Mit der flexiblen Anbindung neuer Carrier und dem zentralen Dashboard für alle ein- und ausgehenden Sendungen bietet shipcloud die ideale Lösung!

Max Schönemann, Mitgründer von Rebelle

Gerade die Tracking-Lösung ist eine wichtige Hilfe, um den Kunden automatisierte Statusupdates zu ihren Sendungen geben zu können. “Das ist für uns ganz wichtig, denn wir liefern in 30 Länder, auch in die USA. 65 Prozent aller Transaktionen bei Rebelle sind transnational. Das bedeutet, eine Verkäuferin aus Italien verkauft zum Beispiel an eine Käuferin aus Deutschland oder eine Kundin aus UK kauft ein Designer-Piece von einer Verkäuferin aus Spanien“, so Max Schönemann. Versendet wird innerhalb Deutschlands nach wie vor mit DHL, beim internationalen Versand und Expressversand – auch in die USA – setzen die Hamburger auf UPS und Fedex. Sein Credo hinsichtlich shipcloud:

„Wer im Onlinehandel nach einer flexiblen Versandlösung mit einfacher Integration sucht, ist hier genau richtig!“

Bereit für Deutschlands führende Versandlösung?
Jetzt anmelden und versenden!

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: